Fear Of Whales

Tales of a reluctant minister

Children’s Ministry

with 2 comments

On Facebook I saw a status yesterday, after volunteering at vacation bible school that said something along the lines of "Why is it that once we turn 18 we have to stop learning about God by doing crafts and singing silly songs?"

I don’t think he was serious, I think he was being cute, but enough people responded in affirmative ways, saying things like "lol yeah totally" and "what are you talking about? I still sing silly songs!" that as a college pastor I started to get concerned.

There actually is a reason why we grow up in out faith. It’s really quite biblical. Arts and crafts on the other hand are fine, but they are extraneous to the bible, and far from the point of christian discipleship. So just in case, I posted a quick bible reference as a comment, one you probably know: 1 Corinthians 13:11

11When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

To my shock. I found that verse utterly dismissed by my friend. his exact word was "Nahh.."

…"Nahh.."

Nahh?

I criticized the church a while back for not feeding us enough to grow up on, but at the time I pointed the problem more towards the spiritual leaders, arguing that they need to offer more. But there is another side to this maturity issue, and it’s the congratants.

It won’t matter what your pastor teaches so long as you look at it and say "Nahh"

It won’t matter how much of the bible you read, as long as you are prepared to ignore the parts you don’t like.

You can spend all of your life in the best church in the world with access to 5 star discipleship, it won’t do any good for your spiritual growth if you only want to go back to Kids Church

Grow Up.

Written by RyanGaffney

April 13, 2012 at 11:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think that most churches do a great disservice to kids by feeding them a bunch of crafts and videos and other assorted garbage.

    I am a pastor at my church and among my responsibilities is to organize children’s Sunday School. We hit the Bible hard. In 2011, I organized a series discussing the qualities of God the Father, with Scripture memory. They learned Omnipotence, Omniscience, and 9 other qualities of God along with Scripture. They also learned the major worldviews and the different branches of theology.

    Starting in January 2012, we have been going verse by verse through the Gospel of John. I have dedicated a month to each chapter, and at the end of the month, the kids sit in during the main service and one of the pastors preaches on that chapter. 21 chapters will take 21 months but the kids will really have a firm grasp of the Book of John by the end of it.

    Most people I meet who grow up in the traditional evangelical church are devoid of critical thinking and knowledge. I often meet Christian adults who are still stuck on Veggie-Tales and other nonsense. I wholeheartedly agree with you on this one Ryan.

    Denny Fusek

    April 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    • Sounds like a great Children’s program Denny. I have often wondered what a really solid Children’s ministry would look like

      RyanGaffney

      June 28, 2012 at 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

